Packaging Hall of Fame inductees chosen

John Kalkowski

January 30, 2014

4 Min Read
Packaging Hall of Fame inductees chosen

148113-packaging_hall_fame_v2.jpgFive packaging professionals have been chosen as the 2009 inductees into the Packaging Hall of Fame. Dwight Schmidt, Jim Scott, Mark Jacobson, Pat Helm and Dennis Young will be recognized at a reception to be held at the Las Vegas Hilton on Monday, October 5, during PACK EXPO 2009.

Every year since 1971, a select number of career packaging professionals have been inducted into the Packaging Hall of Fame in recognition of significant contributions made to the advancement of packaging technology. PMMI’s Education & Training Foundation serves as the coordinating organization for this tradition of honoring packaging leadership.
Ben Miyares, chairman of the Packaging Hall of Fame commission, says: “Induction recognizes those individuals who truly have been, or continue to be, remarkable packaging professionals, who have made significant contributions to the practice and understanding of packaging’s significant role in our society. Inevitably those contributions go beyond service to one’s employers and employees, and touch, in some way, the broader packaging community, and society as a whole.”

Here are brief biographies of the newest members of the Packaging Hall of Fame:

  • Dennis Young is a member of the Michigan State University School of Packaging faculty and a visiting lecturer at the Rochester Institute of Technology. With more than 35 years in the industry, he has worked as a packaging engineer for IBM and Lansmont Corp., a manufacturer’s representative for RDP Corp, and is a continuing consultant to the industry

  • Pat Helm is the business development manager for Balluff Inc. He has worked as an engineer, manager, consultant and business owner. Helm ran the packaging engineering group for General Mills and worked with Metsys Engineering. He has taught packaging courses at the University of Cincinnati and participated in the development of PMMI’s Packaging Systems Integrator Guidelines.

  • Mark Jacobson  is vice president of Econocorp, Inc. He has played a key role in the development of Econocorp, a manufacturer of cartoning, tray forming, and casepacking equipment, and has been one of the early adopters of the Internet in promoting packaging business.  Jacobson also has been active in the PMMI education, planning and show committees.  He is a founder of the New England Packaging Association and has done volunteer work with Northeastern University, Minute Man Vocational School and the Indian Head Technical College.

  • Jim Scott has been a packaging professional for more than 37 years, and has played key roles in the packaging departments of American Can, Frito-lay, Nabisco and Eastman Kodak, pioneering a number of packaging "firsts." He has been a member and chairman of the Packaging Education Forum, the Packaging Management Council and the Council on Packaging in the Environment. He also has served on Clemson University’s packaging Faculty Advisory Board

  • Dwight Schmidt is president of the Fibre Box Association, an association representing more than 90 percent of the corrugated products manufactured in the U.S. He also is executive director of the Corrugated Packaging Alliance. Schmidt also has worked in technical, marketing, sales and operations roles at Inland Paperboard and Packaging, as well as Bristol Myers. Schmidt has been a prolific author of packaging studies and a presenter at schools and packaging around the world.

The new Hall of Fame inductees were chosen from a field of more than 20 nominees by a commission that includes: Jim Anderson, CEO, Marlen;  Joe Angel, vice president, publisher, Packaging WorldJane Chase, president, IoPP and former vice president, packaging, U.S. Foodservice; Tom Egan, vice president, industry services, PMMI;  Anne Johnson, director, Sustainable Packaging Coalition; Sandy Hand, director of global packaging innovation, Hershey Foods Corp.; John Kalkowski, editorial director, Packaging DigestDavid Luttenberger, vice president/packaging strategist, Iconoculture; Yolanda A. Malone, director of packaging development, ConAgra Foods; Gerald P. Meier, vice president, Paper Machinery Co.; Mark Mikol, senior director, packaging and applicators, Scotts Miracle-Gro Co.;  Ben Miyares, vice president, industry relations, PMMI; Kate Putnam, president, Package Machinery Co.; Mike Richmond, senior partner, Packaging & Technology Integrated Solutions; Susan Selke, acting director, School of Packaging, Michigan State University; George Thibeault, president, Constantia-Hueck Foils LLC;  and Nick Wilson, president, Morrison Container Handling Solutions.

Sign up for the Packaging Digest News & Insights newsletter.

You May Also Like